Tuesday, 12 March 2013

President Goodluck Jonathan Grants State Pardon to Alamieyeseigha, Diya, Musa Yar'adua, others

The National Council of State headed by President  Goodluck Jonathan has granted a state pardon to the former Governor of Bayelsa State, Diepreiye Alamieyeseigha.While he was the state governor, Alamieyeseigha embezzled the state funds, a crime which he was convicted for. In July 2007, he pleaded guilty to a six- count corruption charge before a Nigerian court and was sentenced to two years in prison on each count.The council also granted a state pardon to another ex-convict and former head of the Bank of the North, Shettima Bulama.At the meeting attended by three former heads of states and some state governors, pardon was also granted to some of those convicted for coup plotting by the Sani Abacha administration.
The seven others that are to receive pardon are:

1Former Chief of General Staff, Oladipo Diya
2Former Chief of Staff Supreme Military Council, and brother of the late President, late Major General Shehu Musa Yar'adua
3 Major Bello Magaji NA/­6604
4 Mohammed Lima Biu
5 Shettima Bulama, ex-convicted banker
6 Major Geeneral Abdulkareem Adisa (Post Humous)
7 Major Segun Fadipe

The Council of State comprises of the President, Vice President, all state governors, former Presidents, the Chief Justice of the Federation, the Senate President and Speaker among others.

Share :

No comments:

Post a Comment